

Integrated Strategic Planning Steering Committee Terms of Reference

1.0 PURPOSE

The Integrated Strategic Planning Steering Committee (ISPSC) is responsible for overseeing the establishment of the integrated strategic planning (ISP) process at Thompson Rivers University (TRU). The purpose of this process is to create and prepare an Integrated Strategic Plan for endorsement to the TRU governance bodies at the end of the 2021/22 academic year. The ISPSC advises the Provost and Vice-President Academic and Research on matters related to the integrated strategic planning and will be supported by the Integrated Strategic Planning Project Team (ISP Project Team).

2.0 COMMITTEE FUNCTIONS & RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. Provide advice and guidance on the establishment of integrated strategic planning and the development of an institutional integrated strategic plan and strategic priorities.
- 2. Provide supports for member's unit strategic plan and amendments.
- 3. Work with member's unit to contribute to the institutional integrated strategic plan.
- 4. Participate in the ISPSC activities and workshops.
- 5. Provide opportunities and encourage dialogue among students, faculty, staff, and administration with respect to integrated strategic planning.
- 6. Provide input on internal and external communication to keep the TRU community informed of and engaged in the integrated strategic planning process.
- 7. Establish such subcommittees and working groups as needed to fulfil the ISPSC's responsibilities.
- 8. Other duties as assigned by the Provost and Vice-President Academic and Research.

3.0 MEMBERSHIP & MEMBER RESPONSIBILITIES

Constituency	Member and Position Title/ Department	Role
	Dr. Gillian Balfour	Chair
	Provost and Vice-President Academic	
	Amy McLay Paterson	Advisors
	Librarian, University Library	
	Andrew Fergus	
	Department Chair, Associate Professor	
	Bob Gaglardi School of Business and Economics	
	Brenna Clarke Gray	
	Coordinator, Educational Technologies, TRU Open	
	Learning David Carter	
	Assistant Teaching Professor, Faculty of	
	Adventure, Culinary Arts and Tourism	
	David Hill	
	Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts	
	Garry Gottfriedson	
	Secwepemc Cultural Advisor, Department of	
	Indigenous Education	
Faculty Members from each Faculty / School / Division	Iain Pardoe	
	Open Learning Faculty Member, Faculty of	
	Science, Open Learning	
	Kyra Garson	
	Instructional Support, Faculty of Student	
	Development / Intercultural Learning Lorry-Ann Austin	
	Assistant Teaching Professor, School of Social	
	Work and Human Service	
	Mark Wallin	
	Associate Dean, Faculty of Arts	
	Sheila Blackstock	
	Associate Teaching Professor, School of Nursing	
	Sylvia Bell	
	Open Learning Faculty Member, Faculty of	
	Education and Social Work, Open Learning	
	Timothy Kasten	
	Carpentry Instructor, School of Trades &	
	Technology	
Administrators	Baihua Chadwick	
(Academic /	Vice-President International	

Administrative)	Brian Lamb
	Director, Learning Technology & Innovation, TRU
	Open Learning
	Bryan Daly
	Associate Dean, Williams Lake Campus
	Catharine Dishke Hondzel
	Director, Centre for Excellence in Learning and
	Teaching
	Chris Adam
	Associate Vice-President Students and Dean,
	Faculty of Student Development
	Kim Cassar Torreggiani
	Associate Vice-President Advancement, University
	Relations
	Mike Bluhm
	Associate Vice-President Strategic Enrolment and
	University Registrar
	Rita Hodge
	IT Client Services Manager, IT Services
	Sarah Walz
	Director of Student Access and Academic Support,
	Accessibility Services
	Tina Matthew
	Executive Director, Office of Indigenous Education
	Warren Asuchak
	Associate Vice-President, Campus Infrastructure,
	Sustainability and Ancillary Services
	Will Garrett-Petts
	Vice-President Research (Interim)
	Yvette Laflamme
	Associate Vice-President, Finance
Elder	Vacant
Students	Azul Hernandez-Billy
	Undergraduate Student
	Nikoo Ghaffari
	Graduate Student
	Sarah Blayney Lew
	Open Learning Student
	Vacant
	Williams Lake Student

*ISPSC member nominations approved by Faculty Councils, leadership of administrative units, and TRU Student Union (except for students from Open Learning and Williams Lake).

ISP Project Team		
Dr. Gillian Balfour	Provost and Vice-President Academic	Project Leads/
Dr. Shannon Wagner	Associate Vice-President Academic	Advisors
Dr. Greg Anderson	Dean, Faculty of Science	
Dr. Alana Hoare	Associate Director, Academic Planning and Continuous Quality Improvement, Office of Quality Assurance	
Darshan Lindsay	Associate Vice-President, Marketing and Communications	
Dorys Crespin-Mueller	Associate Vice-President, Integrated Planning and Effectiveness	
Jan O'Brien	Director, Integrated Planning and Effectiveness	
Dana Prymak	Integrated Planning Project Manager, Integrated Planning and Effectiveness	

4.0 MEETING SCHEDULE

All ISPSC meetings are scheduled to be held online via Microsoft Teams or Zoom. Additional meetings may be held at the discretion of the Chair, depending on the workload of the Committee.

Wednesday, August 25 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, September 29 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, October 27 3:00 - 4:30 PM Thursday, November 25 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, January 26 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, March 30 3:00 - 4:30 PM		
Wednesday, September 29 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, October 27 3:00 - 4:30 PM Thursday, November 25 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, January 26 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, March 30 3:00 - 4:30 PM	Wednesday, June 16	3:00 – 4:30 PM
Wednesday, October 27 3:00 – 4:30 PM Thursday, November 25 3:00 – 4:30 PM Wednesday, January 26 3:00 – 4:30 PM Wednesday, March 30 3:00 – 4:30 PM	Wednesday, August 25	3:00 – 4:30 PM
Thursday, November 25 3:00 – 4:30 PM Wednesday, January 26 3:00 – 4:30 PM Wednesday, March 30 3:00 – 4:30 PM	Wednesday, September 29	3:00 – 4:30 PM
Wednesday, January 26 3:00 - 4:30 PM Wednesday, March 30 3:00 - 4:30 PM	Wednesday, October 27	3:00 – 4:30 PM
Wednesday, March 30 3:00 – 4:30 PM	Thursday, November 25	3:00 – 4:30 PM
	Wednesday, January 26	3:00 – 4:30 PM
	Wednesday, March 30	3:00 – 4:30 PM
Tuesday, May 24 3:00 – 4:30 PM	Tuesday, May 24	3:00 – 4:30 PM

5.0 MEETING GUIDELINES

The ISPSC will be guided by the following indicators of good practice:

- Agenda for the Committee will be distributed to members at least four working days prior to the meeting.
- Minutes will be taken at each meeting and confirmed at the following meetings.

All corrections to minutes must be tabled at the meeting.

- Decisions taken at meetings will be noted and the minutes will be distributed to Committee members within two weeks of the committee meeting.
- A minimum one-week notice will be given for additional meeting.
- If the member is unavailable to attend, a representative from member's unit planning team should be designated to attend the meeting. The name of the representative should be communicated to the Chair before the start of the meeting.